India Squad for ICC Champions Trophy 2017

The International Cricket Council has announced the India Squad for ICC Champions Trophy for the upcoming tournament 2017. It is a One Day International shortened as ODI cricket tournament organised by ICC. The tournament is of Round robin and Knock out format based and is played approximately every two years. In the Champions Trophy total 8 team participate in every tournament. When it was started in 1998, it was named as ICC Knock Out Tournament but was renamed as Champions Trophy in 2002. The first and the last tournament was played in 1998 and 2013 respectively. In the previous season(2013), India team clashed with England and won the finals. India is the defending champion of the title. First time India won the championship in 2002 and repeated in previous season.

India team ICC Champions Trophy 2017


In 2017, the ODI Champions Trophy first match will be played on 1st of June where England will clash with Bangladesh in Oval. As per the schedule, There will be total 18 matches and the finals will held on June 18th of this year. All the 8 teams will be divided in two groups. Each group A and B will include 4 teams. And two teams from each group will qualify for the next round. And that will be decided on the basis of their ranking in the points table.
On 8th of May the ICC has announced the participating squad of India who will play in upcoming ICC Champions Trophy. We have listed the name of player with captain name for India Team. Virat Kohli will lead the team in upcoming tournament.

As per the announcement of India squad for ICC Champions Trophy, some of the Key players will not be part of Champions Trophy like Gautam Gambhir, Robin Uthappa, Nitish Rana, Rahul Tripathi, Rishabh Pant, Suresh Raina and many more.

India Team for ICC Champions Trophy:

  1. Virat Kohli (Captain)
  2. Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk)
  3. Shikhar Dhawan
  4. Rohit Sharma
  5. Ajinkya Rahane
  6. Yuvraj Singh
  7. Kedar Jadhav
  8. Hardik Pandya
  9. Ravichandran Ashwin
  10. Ravindra Jadeja
  11. Mohd. Shami
  12. Umesh Yadav
  13. Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  14. Jasprit Bumrah
  15. Manish Pandey

Qualifying Team for the ICC Champions Trophy:

  1. Australia
  2. Bangladesh
  3. England
  4. India
  5. New Zealand
  6. Pakistan
  7. South Africa
  8. Sri Lanka

Stay tune with us for latest updates. Follow us on Twitter @ipl20171

Click here to know all about IPL

One Comment

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *